Family ROBERT KRONENTHAL, Dresden

german version

Robert Kronenthal 1915
Musketier Robert Kronenthal, I. Ers. Batl. Inf. Regt. 68, Coblenz-Karthause, Postcard from October 23, 1915 to his parents

Robert Kronenthal is born on November 23, 1896 in Neuwied as the son of the butcher Josef Kronenthal and his wife Emilie Hertz. His sister Therese dies at three years old. His second sister Alice is ten years younger than Robert.

Father Josef Kronenthal runs a prosperous pork and ox butchery at Schlosstraße 20, later at Engerser Straße 15. He provides the duke of Wied and wins a gold medal for his ham which can be obtained by mail order all over Germany.

Robert first goes to the Jewish school in the neighborhood and afterwards attends the Prorealgymnasium. After his exam he starts a commercial apprenticeship at the textile department store Leyens & Levenbach in Wesel, before serving the 6. Rheinisch Infanterie Regiment 68 during WWI.

After the war Robert Kronenthal is employed by the administration of the district office before he switches to the company Winkler & Dünnebier in Neuwied as a commercial clerk.

Familie Kronenthal
Berta and Robert Kronenthal with their son Walter, ca. 1927

In April 1923 Robert Kronenthal marries Berta Metzig from Marburg, who came to Neuwied with her parents in 1905 and makes an apprenticeship at the company Wick to become a milliner and furrier. 1925 their son Hans Walter is born.

Winkler & Dünnebier manufactures chocolate coating machines among others. The owners originate from Sachsen. Maybe that’s how Robert came in contact with the company Johannes Kegel KG Dresden, that also makes chocolate coating machines and for whom he works as a traveling salesman before he founds his own company „Greco-Maschinenfabrik” together with Oskar Gretschel from Kamenz. It begins operation on July 1, 1928 and is registered on March 22, 1929 as an OHG at the commercial register of Dresden. As of February 20, 1931 Robert Kronenthal is sole owner of the business at Albertstraße.

In November 1931 his father Josef marries Dorothea Tobias in Neuwied. Robert’s mother Emilie passed away the year before. Josef Kronenthal dies in 1936 at 67 years old. We know almost nothing about Dorothea. She was born on September 19, 1884. When she was 47 years old she married Josef, a nephew of her grandmother Esther Kronenthal. There are no records about the deportation of Dora, but it’s very likely that she was sent to Izbica, Poland, like most of the Neuwied Jews. There were no survivors.

Greco-Mitarbeiter
Robert Kronenthal (standing on the right) with the workers of his company Greco.

On March 24, 1938 Robert Kronenthal is forced to sell his company Greco to Kurt Galle. He only gets 1.300,-RM for it. Initially he’s still employed at the company. But in November 1938 he’s deported to Buchenwald, where he spends four weeks as inmate No. 23244 in block 50. After that he is only able to give language lessons in English and French at Jewish schools or for private persons who want to emigrate. His wife Berta also sews hoods and coat lining to make ends meet.

Alice Kronenthal in Tynemouth, June 1939.

Robert’s sister Alice was able to go to Great Britain like some of her cousins. In 1939 she works as a restaurant cook in Newcastle-upon-Tyne. In December 1942 she marries Hans Klemperer (Jan Klempera) from Teplitz, Czechia in London. The couple lives in West Hampstead, but Hans soon after joines a Czech brigade to fight against the Nazis.

On October 23, 1942 Robert Kronenthal is arrested. The reasons are not known because all Gestapo files are destroyed. Probably he was denounced. It’s incopmprehensible when exactly he is deported to Auschwitz because there are no organized transports from Dresden between October 1942 and January 1943. His death record is issued on January 11, 1943 at Auschwitz.

The internment of the last 300 Dresden Jews to the camp Hellerberg north of Dresden takes place end of November 1942. This group was deported to Auschwitz in March 1943 and mostly killed upon arrival. There are recordings of the deportations to Hellerberg publicised by Yad Vashem.

Also the Romanist Victor Klemperer is an eye witness of the deportations and writes it down in his diary which he later publishes under the title „I Shall Bear Witness”:

Eva said this new kind of evacuation is so shameless because everything happens so openly. What is undoubtedly new is that this time we have a view of the inferno and remain in contact with it. Is it a moderate hell? That remains to be seen. Young Eisenmann, who helped stuff the bedding, etc., said: „Catastrophic!“ Unimaginably crowded and barbarically primitive, especially the latrines (in a row without dividing walls and far, far too few), but also the narrow beds, etc. The carpenters had said they had worked on barracks for Russian and Polish prisoners — luxury hotels compared to this Jews‘ camp in the sand and mud!

Victor Klemperer, who is married to a non-Jew like Robert Kronenthal had to leave his own house already in 1940 and move into a „Jews house” with his wife Eva. The couple manages to go in hiding during the Allied forces attacks on Dresden and so Klemperer escapes the deportation.

Stolpersteine für Robert und Dorothea Kronenthal
Stolpersteine for Robert and his stepmother Dorothea Kronenthal

Berta and her son Walter survive the heavy bombings of Dresden. In 1947, Berta gets back the factory of her deceased husband, but all of the machines have been taken to another factory which is now in possession of a state-owned company. Although the machines are ordered by the court to be delivered back to her, she never receives  them and has to close the business in 1949.

Alice Kronenthal Klemperer passes away in London on February 10, 1951 due to stomach cancer. She had no children. Her husband died in 1955 from lung cancer.

In February 2014, the Neuwied German-Israeli Friends Association has two Stolpersteine laid for Robert Kronenthal and his stepmother Dora. At 15 Engerser Street there are altogether nine stones commemorating Jewish victims of the Holocaust, who once lived at this address.

Sources: Sächsisches Hauptstaatsarchiv Dresden
11045 Amtsgericht Dresden, Nr. 1374, S. 737, 738
11045 Amtsgericht Dresden, Nachtrag 485, Handblatt
11430 Bezirkstag/Rat des Bezirkes Dresden, VdN 4210
Photos: Olaf Kronenthal (3) und Daniela Tobias

Familie ROBERT KRONENTHAL, Dresden

english version

Robert Kronenthal 1915
Musketier Robert Kronenthal, Postkarte vom 23.10.1915 an die Eltern

Robert Kronenthal kommt am 23. November 1896 in Neuwied als Sohn des Fleischermeisters Josef Kronenthal und seiner Frau Emilie Hertz zur Welt. Die Schwester Therese stirbt bereits mit 3 Jahren. Die zweite Schwester Alice ist zehn Jahre jünger als Robert.

Vater Josef Kronenthal betreibt in Neuwied eine gut laufende Schweine- und Ochsenmetzgerei an der Schlosstraße 20, später an der Engerser Straße 15. Er beliefert den Fürst von Wied und gewinnt 1905 eine Goldmedaille für seinen Kochschinken, der auch in Dosen im Versandhandel erhältlich ist.

Robert besucht zunächst die jüdische Schule in der unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft und anschließend das Prorealgymnasium. Er absolviert nach der Schule eine kaufmännische Ausbildung beim Textil-Kaufhaus Leyens & Levenbach in Wesel, bevor er 1914-18 mit dem 6. Rheinischen Infanterie Regiment 68 als Soldat in den Krieg zieht.

Nach dem Krieg findet Robert Kronenthal eine Anstellung im Verwaltungsdienst des Landratsamtes, bevor er als kaufmännischer Angestellter zur Firma Winkler & Dünnebier in Neuwied wechselt.

Familie Kronenthal
Berta und Robert Kronenthal mit Sohn Walter, ca. 1927

Im April 1923 heiraten Robert Kronenthal und die in Marburg geborene Berta Metzig, die 1905 mit ihren Eltern nach Neuwied gezogen war und bei der Firma Wick eine Ausbildung zur Putzmacherin und Kürschnerin absolvierte. 1925 kommt der gemeinsame Sohn Hans Walter zur Welt.

Bei Winkler & Dünnebier werden unter anderem Schokoladenüberzugmaschinen hergestellt. Die Besitzer stammen ursprünglich aus Sachsen. Möglicherweise kommt Robert dadurch in Kontakt zur Johannes Kegel KG Dresden, die ebenfalls Schokoladenmaschinen herstellt und für die er als Vertreter arbeitet, bevor er selber zusammen mit Oskar Gretschel aus Kamenz die Greco-Maschinenfabrik gründet. Sie nimmt am 1. Juli 1928 ihren Betrieb auf und wird am 22. März 1929 als OHG ins Handelsregister Dresden eingetragen. Robert Kronenthal ist ab dem 20. Februar 1931 Alleininhaber des Betriebs an der Albertstraße.

Im November 1931 heiratet sein Vater Josef in Neuwied Dorothea Tobias. Roberts Mutter Emilie war im Jahr zuvor verstorben. Dorotheas Vater Moses Tobias ist Josefs Cousin. Josef Kronenthal stirbt 1936 mit nur 67 Jahren. Seine Frau Dora wird 1942 deportiert und gilt als verschollen.

Greco-Mitarbeiter
Robert Kronenthal (hinten rechts) vermutlich mit Arbeitern seiner Firma Greco.

Am 24. März 1938 muss Robert Kronenthal seine Firma Greco an Kurt Galle verkaufen. Er erhält dafür lediglich 1.300,-RM. Er ist zunächst noch als Angestellter in der Firma beschäftigt. Im November 1938 wird er nach Buchenwald deportiert, wo er vier Wochen als Häftling Nr. 23244 im Block 50 zubringt. Danach kann er nur noch Sprachunterricht an der jüdischen Schule geben und Privatleute, die auswandern wollen, in englisch und französisch unterrichten. Seine Frau näht außerdem Kapuzen und Zwischenfutter für Mäntel, um die kleine Familie über Wasser zu halten.

Alice Kronenthal im Juni 1939 in Tynemouth.

Roberts Schwester Alice ist es gelungen nach Groß-Britannien auszuwandern wie einigen ihrer Cousins und Cousinen. 1939 arbeitet sie in Newcastle-upon-Tyne als Restaurant-Köchin. Im Dezember 1942 heiratet sie in London Hans Klemperer (Jan Klempera). Das Paar zieht nach West Hampstead, aber Hans schließt sich schon bald eine tschechischen Brigade an, um gegen die Nazis zu kämpfen.

Am 23. Oktober 1942 wird Robert Kronenthal verhaftet. Über die Gründe ist nichts bekannt, alle Gestapoakten sind vernichtet. Wann genau er nach Auschwitz deportiert wird, ist nicht nachzuvollziehen, da es zwischen Oktober 1942 und Januar 1943 keine organisierten Transporte ab Dresden gibt. Seine Todesurkunde aus Auschwitz ist auf den 11. Januar 1943 ausgestellt.

Die Internierung der letzten etwa 300 Juden in das Lager Hellerberg im Norden von Dresden erfolgt Ende November 1942. Diese Gruppe wird Anfang März 1943 nach Auschwitz deportiert und größtenteils direkt nach der Ankunft ermordet. Von den Deportationen nach Hellerberg gibt es Aufnahmen, die Yad Vashem veröffentlicht hat.

Auch der Romanist Victor Klemperer beobachtet die Deportationen und schreibt darüber in sein Tagebuch, das er später unter dem Titel „Ich will Zeugnis geben bis zum Letzten” veröffentlicht:

Eva sagt, diese neue Art der Evakuierung sei deshalb so schamlos, weil alles so offen vor sich gehe. Das Neue daran ist jedenfalls, daß wir diesmal Einblick in das Inferno haben und mit ihm im Konnex bleiben. Ist es eine gemäßigte Hölle? Das muß sich herausstellen. Der junge Eisenmann, der am Auffüllen der Bettsäcke etc. mitgeholfen hatte, sagte: ‚katastrophal! unvorstellbar eng und barbarisch primitiv, … Die Zimmerleute hätten gesagt, sie seien am Barackenbau für russische und polnische Gefangene beschäftigt gewesen – Luxuslager gegen dies Judenlager in Sand und Schlamm …‘

Quelle: hagalil.com

Victor Klemperer, der wie Robert Kronenthal mit einer Nicht-Jüdin verheiratet ist, muss schon ab 1940 sein eigenes Haus verlassen und mit seiner Frau Eva in ein Judenhaus ziehen. Beide schaffen es, während der Angriffe auf Dresden unterzutauchen, und Klemperer entkommt so seiner drohenden Deportation.

Stolpersteine für Robert und Dorothea Kronenthal
Stolpersteine für Robert und Dorothea Kronenthal

Die Witwe Berta Kronenthal erhält 1947 die Firma Greco zurück, scheitert jedoch daran, die zugehörigen Maschinen wieder in ihren Besitz zu bekommen. Sie waren durch Kurt Galle unter anderem in der Maschinenfabrik Elsner genutzt worden. Da Galle ab 1942 NSDAP-Mitglied war, wird er nach dem Krieg enteignet und die Firma Elsner geht in den Besitz des Landes Sachsen über. Der zuständige Treuhänder Grützner vereitelt jedoch mehrfach eine eigentlich zugesagte Herausgabe der Greco-Maschinen. 1949 erlischt die Firma Greco.

Alice Kronenthal Klemperer stirbt im am 10. Februar 1951 im Jewish Home of Rest, Birchlands Ave, London an Magenkrebs . Sie hatte keine Kinder. Ihr Mann stirbt 1955 an Lungenkrebs.

Im Februar 2014 werden in Neuwied an der Engerser Straße 15 Stolpersteine für Robert Kronenthal und seine Stiefmutter Dorothea verlegt.

Quellen: Sächsisches Hauptstaatsarchiv Dresden
11045 Amtsgericht Dresden, Nr. 1374, S. 737, 738
11045 Amtsgericht Dresden, Nachtrag 485, Handblatt
11430 Bezirkstag/Rat des Bezirkes Dresden, VdN 4210
Fotos: Olaf Kronenthal (3) und Daniela Tobias